Free delivery on orders over €40
Free delivery on orders over €40
Ingrédients naturels pour la santé visuelle alignés sur lin crème : fleurs de souci (lutéine), myrtilles, poivron orange, kale, noix, gélules oméga-3
classement comparatif compléments vision

Top 10 Best Eye Supplements in 2026

Written by the Phytocea team Reviewed by Phytocea Scientific Advisory Board Editorial credit: Dr. Arnaud BERNARD
• • 19 min
Summarize with AI:

Written by Dr. Arnaud BERNARD and reviewed by the Phytocea Scientific Committee. Product information checked on 21 September 2026.

Key takeaways

  • The top three products are ORetine (Phytocea), Nutrof Total (Théa) and PreserVision 3 (Bausch+Lomb). All provide the 10 mg lutein + 2 mg zeaxanthin pairing studied in AREDS2, with very different formulas around that base.
  • The 10/2 ratio is not the complete AREDS2 formula, which also provides vitamin C 500 mg, vitamin E 400 IU, zinc 80 mg and copper 2 mg. The findings mainly apply to intermediate AMD or advanced AMD in one eye.
  • Most supplements in this selection cost between €13 and €32 per month. Always check how long the pack lasts and the full daily serving.
  • Omega-3s (DHA) are a documented addition, but they do not have to be in the same capsule: a separate supplement may be suitable.
  • No supplement replaces regular ophthalmology follow-up, especially after age 50 or with a family history of AMD.
  • Vegan, additive-free, rich in astaxanthin: these criteria are not trivial, but their importance depends on your profile and dietary requirements.

The best eye supplement depends on your profile. ORetine ranks first for its vegan formula with 19 active ingredients; Nutrof Total and PreserVision 3 stand out for their DHA content. For a tighter budget, Suvéal Duo has the most consistent monthly cost among formulas providing lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg.

We compared ten products sold in France by daily dose, complete formula, dosage form, transparency and monthly price. A long label is not enough: our ranking rewards published amounts and penalises undisclosed doses. The formulas and prices below were checked on 21 September 2026 using manufacturer sources and leading French online para-pharmacies.

Our methodology

A supplement ranking without transparent criteria is meaningless. These are the six dimensions we used, and why.

1. Amount of lutein and zeaxanthin. AREDS2 studied lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg in people at high risk of progression to advanced AMD. We use this ratio as a comparison point, not as a universal dose or proof that a product reproduces the complete study formula.

2. Presence of astaxanthin. This carotenoid from the microalga Haematococcus pluvialis distinguishes some multi-ingredient formulas. We record its presence and amount without assigning it the same level of evidence as the AREDS2 formula or an authorised eye-health claim. Our astaxanthin ingredient guide examines the available evidence.

3. Omega-3s (DHA). EFSA recognises that a daily intake of 250 mg of DHA contributes to the maintenance of normal vision. Some formulas include it and others do not. DHA is not part of the final reference AREDS2 formula: adding it did not improve the trial's primary outcome.

4. Dosage-form quality and excipients. Plant-based or bovine gelatine capsules, titanium dioxide and controversial excipients are quality criteria that matter for a product taken every day for months.

5. Certifications and transparency. Made in France, vegan certification, absence of synthetic additives and ingredient traceability. These factors build trust without constituting evidence of efficacy in themselves.

6. Value for money. We related the monthly cost to the number and quality of active ingredients in each formula.

The information below was checked on 21 September 2026. Prices were observed on manufacturers' official websites or leading French online para-pharmacies. Formulas and prices can change.

To understand the criteria before comparing brands, see our method for reading an eye supplement label. To distinguish the 10/2 ratio from the complete clinical formula, also read the detailed AREDS 2 formula.

Quick comparison: four profiles, four choices

ProfileChoiceWhyIndicative budget
Vegan multi-ingredient formulaORetineLutein 10 mg, zeaxanthin 2 mg, astaxanthin, glutathione, vitamins and trace elements€29.90/month
Formula with DHANutrof TotalDHA 250 mg and a 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin ratioabout €19–€31/month
Highest DHA dose in the rankingPreserVision 3DHA 360 mg per daily doseabout €23–€26/month
Controlled monthly budgetSuvéal DuoLutein 10 mg, zeaxanthin 2 mg and DHA 250 mg in one capsuleabout €13–€14/month

Read the lutein and zeaxanthin figures at the daily dose, not per capsule. Our lutein guide explains how to interpret these amounts.

The 10 best eye supplements in 2026

1 EDITOR'S CHOICE

ORetine — Phytocea

19 active ingredients in a plant-based formula. ORetine is the most diverse formula in this ranking. It combines lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg with astaxanthin, reduced glutathione, grape-seed OPCs, bilberry, nine vitamins and four trace elements. The daily dose is two pullulan capsules.

  • Lutein: 10 mg | Zeaxanthin: 2 mg per daily dose
  • Astaxanthin: 2 mg | Reduced glutathione: 60 mg
  • 19 active ingredients in total, including vitamin C 160 mg, vitamin E 30 mg (45 IU), zinc 11 mg and copper 1.56 mg
  • Plant-based pullulan capsules, vegan, made in France
  • Price: €29.90 (60 capsules, 1 month)
  • 19 disclosed active ingredients, including astaxanthin, glutathione and OPCs
  • 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin ratio and 100% vegan formula
  • Under €1 per day for 19 declared active ingredients
  • No DHA: anyone not obtaining omega-3s separately would need to add another product
  • Available only online (Phytocea and selected online para-pharmacies)
View ORetine at Phytocea
Our verdict: The formula disclosing the largest number of active ingredients in this selection. It suits readers looking for a vegan, multi-ingredient product; it contains no DHA and does not reproduce the complete AREDS2 doses.
2 WIDELY AVAILABLE IN PHARMACIES

Nutrof Total — Théa

A widely distributed pharmacy product. Nutrof Total combines the 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin pairing with DHA 250 mg, vitamins, minerals and a resveratrol extract. Its composition does not reproduce the high doses in the complete AREDS2 formula.

  • Lutein: 10 mg | Zeaxanthin: 2 mg
  • DHA: 250 mg (total omega-3s: 656 mg)
  • Vitamins C 180 mg, E 30 mg, D 10 µg, zinc 15 mg, copper 1 mg
  • Resveratrol (Vitis vinifera extract): 1 mg
  • Price: about €19/month in the economy format (€56.99 for 180 capsules, 3 months) or about €31/month (pack of 60 capsules)
  • 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin pairing and DHA in the same daily dose
  • Wide pharmacy distribution and a laboratory specialising in ophthalmology
  • Competitive monthly price in the 180-capsule format (about €19/month), higher in the pack of 60
  • Not vegan: bovine gelatine capsule and fish oil—unsuitable for vegetarians
  • No astaxanthin or glutathione: two antioxidants used in some eye formulas are absent
  • No botanical extracts such as grape-seed OPCs or bilberry, limiting polyphenol variety
  • High price in the 60-capsule format (about €31/month); about €19/month requires buying 180 capsules
View Nutrof Total 180 capsules at Théa
Our verdict: A clearly labelled option for people who want the 10/2 pairing and DHA together. The formula is less diverse than ORetine and should not be confused with the complete AREDS2 formula.
3 HIGHEST DHA DOSE

PreserVision 3 — Bausch+Lomb

A formula from a long-established eye-care company. PreserVision 3 combines lutein, zeaxanthin, DHA, vitamins and zinc. At 360 mg, it provides the highest DHA amount in this ranking, but its vitamin and zinc doses differ from the complete AREDS2 formula.

  • Lutein: 10 mg | Zeaxanthin: 2 mg
  • DHA: 360 mg (total omega-3s: 600 mg, fish oil 1,015 mg)
  • Vitamin C: 180 mg | Vitamin E: 30 mg | Zinc: 15 mg
  • Fish gelatine capsules, 2/day
  • Price: about €23–€26/month (pack of 60 capsules, prices checked in September 2026)
  • DHA 360 mg/day: the highest omega-3 dose in this ranking
  • Brand specialising in eye health, with wide pharmacy distribution
  • Fish gelatine instead of bovine gelatine, suitable for pescatarians
  • Limited to 6 active ingredients: no astaxanthin, glutathione or polyphenols such as OPCs or bilberry
  • Not vegan: fish gelatine and fish oil, incompatible with vegetarian or vegan diets
  • Contains colourings (iron oxides E172) and silicon dioxide
  • No vitamin D or selenium
View PreserVision 3 at Bausch+Lomb
Our verdict: The highest-DHA choice in this selection if you want DHA and carotenoids in one product. Its composition is less diverse than those ranked above it.
4 BEST VALUE

Macula-Z — Horus Pharma

One capsule per day, with an economical 120-capsule pack. Macula-Z combines the 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin ratio, vitamins and minerals at nutritional doses, and DHA 176 mg. A pack of 30 costs about €18; the 120-capsule pack costs less per month, but availability is inconsistent.

  • Lutein: 10 mg | Zeaxanthin: 2 mg
  • DHA: 176 mg | EPA: 52.8 mg (fish oil 440 mg)
  • Vitamin C: 80 mg | Vitamin E: 12 mg | Zinc: 10 mg | Copper: 1 mg
  • 1 capsule/day, packs of 30 capsules (1 month) or 120 capsules (4 months)
  • Price: about €18/month (30 capsules) or about €10/month (120 capsules, about €41)
  • Attractive value in the 120-capsule format
  • One capsule per day makes the routine simple
  • Clearly published 10/2 carotenoid ratio
  • Vitamin C 80 mg and vitamin E 12 mg, below the 500 mg and 400 IU in the complete AREDS2 formula
  • Not vegan: contains fish oil and bovine gelatine
  • No astaxanthin, glutathione, grape-seed OPCs or bilberry—only 8 active ingredients in total
  • DHA limited to 176 mg, compared with 250 mg in Nutrof Total and Suvéal Duo
  • Listed as unavailable on the official website during our September 2026 check
View Macula-Z at Horus Pharma
Our verdict: The 120-capsule format has a low monthly cost, but the vitamin doses remain far from the AREDS2 formula and availability of the large pack should be checked before buying.
5 CONVENIENT FORMAT

Suvéal Duo — Densmore

A substantial DHA dose in one capsule per day. Suvéal Duo combines DHA 250 mg with the 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin pairing in a single daily capsule. The formula is concise; its vitamin and mineral doses do not reproduce the complete AREDS2 formula.

  • Lutein: 10 mg | Zeaxanthin: 2 mg
  • DHA: 250 mg (total omega-3s: 313.5 mg)
  • Vitamin C: 100 mg | Vitamin E: 30 mg | Vitamin D: 5 µg | Zinc: 15 mg
  • 1 capsule/day, formats of 60, 90 or 180 capsules
  • Price: about €13–€14/month (€27–€28 for 60 capsules, or 2 months)
  • DHA 250 mg in one capsule: a substantial and convenient dose
  • Concise formula with a 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin ratio
  • Accessible price and pharmacy availability
  • Not vegan: contains fish oil (DHA) and a fish-gelatine capsule
  • No astaxanthin or glutathione
  • No polyphenols such as grape-seed OPCs or bilberry; antioxidant range is limited to vitamins C and E and zinc
  • Vitamin C limited to 100 mg, compared with 160–180 mg in the highest-dose formulas
View Suvéal Duo at Densmore
Our verdict: A simple option combining the 10/2 ratio with DHA 250 mg in one capsule. Its vitamin and mineral doses nevertheless differ from the complete AREDS2 formula.
6 HOMOCYSTEINE APPROACH

Ocufolin Forte — Aprofol

The metabolic angle: homocysteine and methylation. Ocufolin Forte takes a different approach. L-methylfolate, N-acetyl-L-cysteine and several B vitamins accompany the 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin ratio. This formulation does not match the complete AREDS2 formula.

  • Lutein: 10 mg | Zeaxanthin: 2 mg
  • Calcium L-methylfolate: 900 µg | N-acetyl-L-cysteine: 180 mg
  • Zinc: 25 mg | Vitamin B2: 10 mg | Vitamin B12: 500 µg | Vitamin D3: 37.5 µg
  • 1 capsule/day, pack of 90 capsules (3 months)
  • Price: about €30/month (€89 for 90 capsules on the official website)
  • L-methylfolate and B vitamins with published amounts
  • N-acetyl-L-cysteine 180 mg, a precursor of intracellular glutathione
  • Zinc 25 mg: the highest dose in the ranking
  • High price: about €30/month (€89 for 90 capsules), among the most expensive in the comparison
  • No DHA, astaxanthin or botanical extracts such as bilberry and OPCs
  • Limited distribution in France, mainly available in Switzerland and online
View the official Ocufolin Forte brochure
Our verdict: A distinct formula centred on folates, B vitamins and NAC. Its price is among the highest in the ranking; seek professional advice before choosing this type of formula.
7 VEGAN & BOTANICALS

Visioplex — Solgar

The botanical approach: bilberry, ginkgo and eyebright. Solgar Visioplex focuses on plant extracts. Bilberry, ginkgo biloba, eyebright, taurine and NAC complement a base of vitamins and trace elements. The capsules are plant-based; zeaxanthin is not quantified separately.

  • Lutein: 10 mg (for 2 capsules) | No separately stated zeaxanthin dose
  • Bilberry (anthocyanosides): 20 mg | Ginkgo biloba: 10 mg | Eyebright: 25 mg
  • Vitamin C: 300 mg | Vitamin E: 67 mg | Zinc: 10 mg | Taurine: 100 mg | NAC: 50 mg
  • Plant-based capsules, 2/day, bottle of 60 capsules (1 month)
  • Price: about €29/month
  • Published amounts of bilberry, ginkgo and eyebright
  • 100% vegan, plant-based capsules, established Solgar brand
  • High doses of vitamins C and E (300 mg and 67 mg)
  • Zeaxanthin not quantified separately: the 10/2 ratio cannot be verified
  • No DHA, astaxanthin or glutathione
  • Very little selenium (2.5 µg per 2 capsules)
View Visioplex at Solgar
Our verdict: An option for vegans who prioritise plant extracts. Because zeaxanthin is not quantified separately, comparison with 10/2 formulas remains limited.
8 ENTRY LEVEL

Ocuvite Lutéine Forte — Bausch+Lomb

PreserVision's lower-dose sibling. Ocuvite Lutéine Forte provides one tablet per day at a moderate price, with lutein 6 mg and zeaxanthin 0.5 mg. These amounts remain below the 10/2 comparison point used in this ranking.

  • Lutein: 6 mg | Zeaxanthin: 0.5 mg
  • Vitamin C: 60 mg | Vitamin E: 8.8 mg | Zinc: 5 mg | Selenium: 20 µg
  • 1 tablet/day, pack of 30 tablets (1 month)
  • No DHA, astaxanthin or botanical extracts
  • Price: about €17/month
  • One tablet per day: maximum simplicity
  • Accessible price for a Bausch+Lomb product
  • Widely available through pharmacies
  • Lutein and zeaxanthin below the 10/2 reference used in the comparison
  • Vitamin C 60 mg, vitamin E 8.8 mg and zinc 5 mg: lower doses than several competing formulas
  • No DHA, astaxanthin, glutathione or botanical extracts—a minimalist formula
View Ocuvite at Bausch+Lomb
Our verdict: A simple, widely available formula. Its lutein and zeaxanthin doses remain below the 10/2 reference used in this ranking.
9 BUDGET

Visioptyl — Natur'edea

A formula with several doses that remain difficult to compare. Visioptyl combines lutein, zinc, vitamins E, A and B2, DHA, and extracts of bilberry and blackcurrant. The manufacturer page we reviewed does not publish the lutein or DHA amounts, limiting transparency.

  • Lutein: present (exact dose not disclosed on the official website)
  • DHA: present (from fish oil, amount not stated)
  • Zinc, vitamins E, A and B2, bilberry and blackcurrant extracts
  • 2 capsules/day, pack of 30 capsules (15 days)
  • Price: €14.90 for 30 capsules (only 15 days at 2 capsules/day), or about €30/month
  • Accessible pack price of €14.90, although it covers only 15 days and therefore costs about €30/month
  • Made in France and available through pharmacies
  • Contains bilberry and blackcurrant extracts
  • Lutein and DHA doses not disclosed on the official website
  • 30 capsules at 2/day lasts only 15 days: the true cost is about €30/month, not €15
  • Not vegan (fish gelatine and fish oil)
View Visioptyl at Natur'edea
Our verdict: The pack price looks low, but the two-capsule serving doubles the monthly cost. Undisclosed amounts prevent a complete comparison.
10 LONG-STANDING PRODUCT

Difrarel 100 — Biocodex

A medicine, not a dietary supplement. Difrarel 100 combines an anthocyanoside-rich bilberry extract with beta-carotene. Its status, dosage and composition place it outside a direct comparison with the nine supplements in this selection.

  • Anthocyanoside-rich bilberry extract: 100 mg per tablet
  • Beta-carotene: 5 mg per tablet
  • No lutein, zeaxanthin, DHA or zinc
  • 3 to 6 tablets/day for 20 days/month
  • Price: €17–€23 for 60 tablets, or about €35–€70/month depending on the actual dose (3–6 tablets/day, 20 days/month)
  • Medicine status (marketing authorisation): stricter regulatory oversight than a supplement
  • Anthocyanoside-rich bilberry extract quantified at 100 mg per tablet
  • Moderate pack price (€17–€23 for 60 tablets), but a high true monthly cost (€35–€70 depending on dosage)
  • No lutein, zeaxanthin or DHA: difficult to compare with current supplements
  • Beta-carotene: a specific precaution for smokers and former smokers
  • Demanding dosage: 3 to 6 tablets/day in an intermittent course
View Difrarel 100 at VIDAL
Our verdict: This product follows a distinct medical rationale. Its use should be discussed with a doctor or pharmacist; it cannot be compared like an ordinary eye supplement.

Summary comparison table

Rank Product Lutein Zeaxanthin Astaxanthin DHA Vegan Price/month Score
1 ORetine (Phytocea) 10 mg 2 mg 2 mg No Yes about €30 9/10
2 Nutrof Total (Théa) 10 mg 2 mg No 250 mg No about €19–€31 8.5/10
3 PreserVision 3 (Bausch+Lomb) 10 mg 2 mg No 360 mg No about €23–€26 8/10
4 Macula-Z (Horus Pharma) 10 mg 2 mg No 176 mg No about €10–€18 7.5/10
5 Suvéal Duo (Densmore) 10 mg 2 mg No 250 mg No about €13–€14 7.5/10
6 Ocufolin Forte (Aprofol) 10 mg 2 mg No No No about €30 7/10
7 Visioplex (Solgar) 10 mg n.d. No No Yes about €29 6.5/10
8 Ocuvite Lutéine Forte (Bausch+Lomb) 6 mg 0.5 mg No No No about €17 5.5/10
9 Visioptyl (Natur'edea) n.d. n.d. No n.d. No about €30 5/10
10 Difrarel 100 (Biocodex) 0 mg 0 mg No No No about €35–€70 4.5/10

n.d. = not disclosed by the manufacturer. Monthly prices are calculated using the recommended serving and prices observed in September 2026 on official websites and leading French online para-pharmacies. A range means the price varies by pack format. The score summarises our six editorial criteria; it is not a measure of clinical efficacy.

Which eye supplement should you choose for your profile?

You are under 40 and spend a lot of time on screens

Screen-related eye strain, dry eyes and AMD involve different mechanisms. Start by correcting the lighting, working distance, breaks and any need for vision correction. An AREDS2-inspired formula was not studied to compensate for long days in front of a screen.

If you still choose a supplement, compare its published amounts and monthly cost. ORetine and Visioplex are the two vegan options in the ranking, with different compositions: 19 quantified active ingredients in the former and more botanical extracts in the latter.

You are over 50 or have an AMD diagnosis

The AREDS2 formula mainly applies to people with intermediate AMD in one or both eyes, or advanced AMD in one eye. It contains vitamin C 500 mg, vitamin E 400 IU, zinc 80 mg, copper 2 mg, lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg. Only your ophthalmologist can determine whether this high-dose formula suits your circumstances. To put these stages in context, see our guide to AMD, its signs and follow-up.

Nutrof Total, PreserVision 3 and Suvéal Duo are widely distributed through pharmacies, but the compositions shown here do not all reproduce the high-dose clinical formula. ORetine follows a different approach: 19 active ingredients at nutritional doses, with no DHA included. Do not substitute a product in this ranking for an ophthalmologist's recommendation.

You are vegetarian or vegan

The choice narrows considerably: most formulas contain animal gelatine and/or fish oil. Only ORetine (pullulan capsules, lichen-derived vitamin D3) and Visioplex (HPMC capsules) are compatible with a vegan diet.

ORetine differs from Visioplex by providing a quantified 2 mg zeaxanthin dose, including astaxanthin and publishing all daily amounts.

You want the lowest possible price

The 120-capsule Macula-Z pack costs about €10/month, but this format was unavailable on the official website during our check; the 30-capsule pack costs closer to €18/month. Suvéal Duo at €13–€14/month provides DHA 250 mg. Be careful with Visioptyl: the displayed price of €14.90 covers 15 days at two capsules per day, or about €30 per month.

Your ophthalmologist prescribed a specific supplement

Follow their recommendation. A prescription accounts for the observed stage, your medical history and other products you take. This ranking compares commercial labels; it is not intended to replace personalised medical advice.

When should you consult an ophthalmologist?

A dietary supplement does not replace medical follow-up. Make an appointment if:

  • Straight lines appear distorted, a warning sign of wet AMD
  • Your vision suddenly declines in one eye
  • You see fixed dark spots in your field of vision
  • You are over 50 and have not had a dilated eye examination for more than 2 years
  • You have a family history of AMD, glaucoma or retinal detachment

The Amsler grid, available from any ophthalmologist, is a quick test you can use at home to detect visual distortion. Ask your doctor about it.

Eye supplements are not medicines. Zinc, vitamin B2 and DHA from 250 mg per day may carry authorised claims on the maintenance of normal vision when the conditions are met. Lutein and zeaxanthin do not have such an authorised claim in Europe.

Our three final recommendations

For a vegan multi-ingredient formula: ORetine by Phytocea (€29.90/month). It provides 19 active ingredients, including the 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin pairing, astaxanthin and glutathione. It is not a complete AREDS2 formula and provides no DHA; this can come from food or, if needed, a separate product such as OMega+ by Phytocea.

For a widely distributed formula with DHA: Nutrof Total by Théa (about €19/month in the 180-capsule format, about €31/month in a pack of 60). It combines DHA 250 mg with the 10/2 lutein/zeaxanthin pairing in a less diverse formula than ORetine.

For the tightest budget: Suvéal Duo by Densmore (about €13–€14/month) combines the 10/2 ratio with DHA 250 mg in one capsule. Macula-Z by Horus Pharma costs about €10/month in the 120-capsule format, but that format is less consistently available.

See ORetine's complete formula

This article is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice. Consult a qualified healthcare professional if you have symptoms or before taking a dietary supplement, particularly if you are pregnant, breastfeeding or taking any medication.

Research and references

(1) Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2 Research Group. Lutein + zeaxanthin and omega-3 fatty acids for age-related macular degeneration: the AREDS2 randomized clinical trial. JAMA. 2013;309(19):2005-2015. doi:10.1001/jama.2013.4997

(2) Age-Related Eye Disease Study Research Group. A randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial of high-dose supplementation with vitamins C and E, beta carotene, and zinc for age-related macular degeneration and vision loss. Arch Ophthalmol. 2001;119(10):1417-1436. doi:10.1001/archopht.119.10.1417

(3) Chew EY, Clemons TE, Agrón E, et al. Long-term outcomes of adding lutein/zeaxanthin and omega-3 fatty acids to the AREDS supplements on age-related macular degeneration progression. JAMA Ophthalmol. 2022;140(7):692-698. doi:10.1001/jamaophthalmol.2022.1640

(4) Evans JR, Lawrenson JG. Antioxidant vitamin and mineral supplements for slowing the progression of age-related macular degeneration. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2017;7:CD000254. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000254.pub4

(5) Asbell PA, Maguire MG, Pistilli M, et al. n-3 Fatty Acid Supplementation for the Treatment of Dry Eye Disease. N Engl J Med. 2018;378(18):1681-1690. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1709691

(6) Saito M, Yoshida K, Saito W, et al. Astaxanthin increases choroidal blood flow velocity. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol. 2012;250(2):239-245. doi:10.1007/s00417-011-1841-6

(7) Souied EH, Delcourt C, Querques G, et al. Oral docosahexaenoic acid in the prevention of exudative age-related macular degeneration: the NAT2 study. Ophthalmology. 2013;120(8):1619-1631. doi:10.1016/j.ophtha.2013.01.005

(8) Bernstein PS, Li B, Vachali PP, et al. Lutein, zeaxanthin, and meso-zeaxanthin: the basic and clinical science underlying carotenoid-based nutritional interventions against ocular disease. Prog Retin Eye Res. 2016;50:34-66. doi:10.1016/j.preteyeres.2015.10.003

(9) Richer S, Stiles W, Statkute L, et al. Double-masked, placebo-controlled, randomized trial of lutein and antioxidant supplementation in atrophic age-related macular degeneration: the Veterans LAST study. Optometry. 2004;75(4):216-230. doi:10.1016/S1529-1839(04)70049-4

(10) Otsuka T, Shimazawa M, Nakanishi T, et al. Protective effects of a dietary carotenoid, astaxanthin, against light-induced retinal damage. J Pharmacol Sci. 2013;123(3):209-218. doi:10.1254/jphs.13066FP

Back to Health issues

To go further

How to Choose an Eye Supplement: 6 Precise Criteria

Written by Dr. Arnaud BERNARD and reviewed by the Phytocea Scientific Committee. Updated on 21 September 2026. Key takeaways Always read the...

AREDS 2 Formula: Ingredients, Doses and Who It Is For

Written by Dr. Arnaud BERNARD and reviewed by the Phytocea Scientific Committee. Labels checked on 2 October 2026. Key takeaways The AREDS...

Lutein for Eye Health: Dosage, Sources and Clinical Data

Lutein is a carotenoid pigment essential for the functioning of the retina. It can be found in food, but its supplementation has...

What are the roles of antioxidants in eye health?

For Phytocea by Léa Bathily, Dietitian With age and increasing exposure to various environmental factors, our eyes can be susceptible to health...