How to Choose an Eye Supplement: 6 Precise Criteria
Written by Dr. Arnaud BERNARD and reviewed by the Phytocea Scientific Committee. Updated on 21 September 2026.
Key takeaways
- Always read the daily dose, never the amount in one capsule in isolation.
- The best-documented pairing provides 10 mg of lutein and 2 mg of zeaxanthin, but this ratio alone does not reproduce the complete AREDS 2 formula.
- For DHA, check the exact amount: 250 mg per day is the threshold for the European claim on the maintenance of normal vision.
- Compare the monthly cost, number of doses and any undisclosed amounts.
- A transparent product publishes the forms, doses and daily serving for every active ingredient.
To choose an eye supplement, check six points: your objective, daily lutein and zeaxanthin doses, whether DHA is included, the vitamins and minerals, the dosage form, and the monthly cost. A long ingredient list never makes up for low amounts or doses missing from the label.
This method works for any formula sold in France. It does not rank brands. If you are already comparing products, go directly to our eye supplement comparison.
Before comparing products: what is your objective?
The right starting point is not the number of active ingredients. It is the intended use. A 35-year-old who spends long hours in front of screens, an adult who eats little fish and an older person monitored for AMD do not need the same type of formula.
For daily nutritional intake, first look for nutrients with authorised claims: zinc and vitamin B2 contribute to the maintenance of normal vision, as does DHA at 250 mg per day. Lutein and zeaxanthin have been studied because they are present in macular pigment, but they do not have an authorised EFSA health claim.
For a vegan formula, check the capsule shell and the DHA source. Softgels often contain gelatine, while omega-3s commonly come from fish oil. DHA from microalgae can suit a vegan diet, provided that its dose is disclosed.
If you are being monitored by an ophthalmologist, their recommendation takes priority over any online ranking. AREDS and AREDS2 studied specific categories of AMD; they did not establish a universal requirement for all adults.
Six criteria for reading a label
1. Lutein and zeaxanthin: check the daily dose
Lutein and zeaxanthin are two xanthophylls concentrated in the macula. AREDS2 tested 10 mg of lutein and 2 mg of zeaxanthin per day in people at high risk of progression to advanced AMD (1). This 5:1 ratio is often used as a reference point on the French market.
A reference point is not a universal rule. Do not assume a product is better because “lutein” appears in large type. Find the amount in the complete serving: two capsules containing 5 mg each provide 10 mg; one capsule containing 2 mg still provides only 2 mg. If the zeaxanthin amount is not stated, record it as “not disclosed” in your comparison.
Our guide to lutein dosage examines dietary sources, the pairing with zeaxanthin and the clinical evidence.
2. AREDS 2 formula: do not reduce it to the 10/2 ratio
The reference AREDS2 formula contains six components in precise amounts: vitamin C 500 mg, vitamin E 400 IU, zinc 80 mg, copper 2 mg, lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg. The trial also compared variants, including a lower zinc dose and the addition of EPA/DHA. The omega-3s did not improve the study's primary outcome (1, 2).
A label providing 10 mg of lutein and 2 mg of zeaxanthin is therefore not automatically a complete AREDS2 formula. It reproduces only two doses from the trial. Our page on AREDS 2 ingredients and doses provides the full table and describes the populations studied.
3. DHA: included or taken separately
DHA is an omega-3 fatty acid found in retinal membranes. In Europe, the claim “DHA contributes to the maintenance of normal vision” can be used for a daily intake of 250 mg. On the label, distinguish DHA from “total omega-3s”: 500 mg of fish oil does not mean 500 mg of DHA.
A formula without DHA is not necessarily incomplete. You may obtain it from food or a separate product. Keeping it separate can make it easier to choose a vegan formula or adjust the dose. For details on forms and sources, see our guide to DHA-rich omega-3s.
4. Vitamins and trace elements: identify their function
Zinc and vitamin B2 contribute to the maintenance of normal vision. Vitamins C and E, zinc, copper, selenium and manganese contribute to the protection of cells from oxidative stress when the conditions for using their respective claims are met.
Compare each amount with nutrient reference values and with the context of the formula. A high dose is not automatically an advantage. Copper, for example, accompanies zinc in AREDS formulas. If you use several supplements, add up the daily intakes before choosing.
5. Bioavailability: check the form and directions
Lutein and zeaxanthin are fat-soluble. Their absorption varies with the food matrix, ingredient form and meal. Pharmacokinetic studies show a stronger response when carotenoids are consumed with fat (6).
This does not automatically place a softgel above a plant-based capsule. Consider the full picture: the lutein source, free or esterified form when disclosed, any lipid excipient and the manufacturer's directions. Follow those directions rather than improvising.
6. Transparency, monthly cost and number of doses
The pack price is easily misleading. Divide it by the number of days covered at the recommended serving. A €15 pack containing 30 capsules costs €30 per month if the dose is two capsules per day.
Record missing information too. “Proprietary blend 300 mg” does not tell you how much lutein or bilberry you consume. A short formula with every amount disclosed is easier to compare than a list of 20 ingredients with no individual doses.
Checklist: assess an eye supplement in 60 seconds
| Check | Question to ask | Positive sign | Warning sign |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serving | How many capsules per day? | An explicit daily dose | Amount shown only “per capsule” |
| Lutein | Is the amount stated? | Published daily dose | Present with no amount |
| Zeaxanthin | Is it listed separately from lutein? | Separate amount | “Carotenoids” with no detail |
| AREDS2 | Is the complete formula being compared? | Six verifiable components | The 10/2 ratio alone presented as the complete formula |
| DHA | Is DHA stated separately? | Amount of DHA per day | Only “fish oil” |
| Forms | Are the sources named? | Detailed plant species and mineral salts | Opaque proprietary blend |
| Use | Is the routine realistic? | One or two doses that fit your routine | Ambiguous directions |
| Cost | How much for 30 days? | Monthly cost can be calculated | Pack price highlighted with no duration |
Keep a photo of the label and complete this checklist for two or three products. The comparison becomes factual, and the gaps appear immediately.
Mistakes that distort the comparison
Comparing the dose per capsule. This is the most common mistake. Two products may show 5 mg of lutein, but one recommends two capsules while the other recommends one. Always convert the figures to a 24-hour intake.
Confusing the 10/2 ratio with the complete AREDS2 formula. Lutein and zeaxanthin are only two components of the protocol. Check the zinc, copper and vitamins C and E, then confirm the population the study addressed.
Prioritising the number of ingredients. A long list can hide low amounts. Count the active ingredients with published doses, not the names printed on the front.
Comparing pack prices. The relevant figure is the cost for 30 days. Include any separate purchases too, such as adding DHA to a formula without omega-3s.
Assuming “natural” describes quality. The word tells you nothing about dose, traceability or testing. The botanical species, standardisation, country of manufacture and certificates are more useful.
Which format suits your profile?
| Profile | Format to consider | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Limited dietary variety | Multi-ingredient formula | Actual doses and no duplication with another multivitamin |
| Low fish intake | Formula with DHA or separate DHA | DHA 250 mg, source and oxidation |
| Vegan diet | Plant-based capsule, microalgal DHA if desired | Capsule shell, vitamin D and omega-3 source |
| Simple routine | One or two units per day | Does the stated dose provide the full formula? |
| Ophthalmology follow-up | Formula agreed with the professional | Stage, history, other supplements and medicines |
Compare products sold in France
Once you have completed the checklist, move on to real products. Our 10 best eye supplements compares ten formulas using the same units: daily dose, monthly cost, capsule source and undisclosed information. The ranking answers the commercial question; this page remains your method for checking it.
When should you seek professional advice?
This article is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice. Consult an ophthalmologist if you experience a rapid decline in vision, straight lines appearing distorted, a fixed spot in your field of vision, flashes of light or persistent eye pain.
Before taking a supplement, also consult a qualified healthcare professional if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking any medication or using several products containing zinc, copper or fat-soluble vitamins.
Summary: your method in three steps
1. Define your profile. Daily nutrition, DHA, a vegan formula or an ophthalmologist's recommendation: one primary objective is enough to begin.
2. Convert everything to the daily dose. Record lutein, zeaxanthin, DHA, vitamins and minerals, and clearly mark every undisclosed value.
3. Calculate the 30-day cost. Then compare the dosage form, transparency and number of doses.
As an example, ORetine publishes its formula for two capsules: lutein 10 mg, zeaxanthin 2 mg, vitamin C 160 mg, vitamin E 30 mg or 45 IU, zinc 11 mg, copper 1.56 mg, astaxanthin 2 mg and reduced glutathione 60 mg. A 60-capsule bottle covers 30 days and cost €29.90 on 21 September 2026. It contains no DHA and does not reproduce the high doses in the complete AREDS2 formula.