AREDS 2 Formula: Ingredients, Doses and Who It Is For
Written by Dr. Arnaud BERNARD and reviewed by the Phytocea Scientific Committee. Labels checked on 2 October 2026.
Key takeaways
- The AREDS 2 formula combines six nutrients: vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc, copper, lutein and zeaxanthin.
- The pairing of 10 mg lutein + 2 mg zeaxanthin does not, by itself, constitute the full formula.
- The trials studied people with intermediate AMD or advanced AMD in one eye, not the general population.
- Adding EPA and DHA did not improve the primary AREDS2 outcome.
- Many eye supplements sold in France are inspired by AREDS2 without reproducing every dose.
AREDS 2 is a nutritional formula studied in people at high risk of progression of age-related macular degeneration. It combines vitamin C 500 mg, vitamin E 400 IU, zinc 80 mg, copper 2 mg, lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg (1, 2). It is not a formula intended indiscriminately for every adult.
What is AREDS 2?
AREDS stands for Age-Related Eye Disease Study. Funded by the US National Eye Institute, these trials assessed combinations of vitamins, carotenoids and minerals in participants monitored for AMD or cataracts.
AREDS2 included 4,203 participants aged 50 to 85. All had bilateral intermediate AMD or advanced AMD in one eye. The aim was not to test a general multivitamin or study eye strain related to screen use.
The first AREDS study observed an approximately 25% reduction in the risk of progression to advanced AMD among high-risk categories receiving the antioxidant-zinc combination (1). AREDS2 studied the addition of lutein/zeaxanthin and EPA/DHA, as well as the removal of beta-carotene and a lower dose of zinc (2).
What is the complete AREDS 2 formula?
| Component | Daily dose studied | Role in the formula |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin C | 500 mg | Water-soluble antioxidant |
| Vitamin E | 400 IU | Fat-soluble antioxidant |
| Lutein | 10 mg | Macular pigment carotenoid |
| Zeaxanthin | 2 mg | Macular pigment carotenoid |
| Zinc | 80 mg of zinc as zinc oxide; a 25 mg variant was studied | Mineral used in the AREDS formula |
| Copper | 2 mg of copper as cupric oxide | Added alongside the high zinc dose |
The table shows the doses used in the US trial. It is not a recommendation for self-supplementation. For comparison, the European nutrient reference value for zinc is 10 mg per day. The AREDS dose of 80 mg is eight times higher. Vitamin E at 400 IU is also far above the amount in a typical nutritional formula. These quantities require professional oversight.
AREDS 1 and AREDS 2: what changed?
| Point compared | AREDS | AREDS2 |
|---|---|---|
| Carotenoid | Beta-carotene 15 mg | Lutein 10 mg + zeaxanthin 2 mg tested as a replacement |
| Zinc | 80 mg | 80 mg compared with 25 mg |
| Omega-3s | Not studied in the formula | DHA 350 mg + EPA 650 mg tested |
| Population | Several AMD categories | Participants at high risk of progression |
The most useful change concerns beta-carotene. In AREDS2, lutein and zeaxanthin provided a replacement without the lung-risk signal observed with beta-carotene in former smokers (2, 3). Ten-year follow-up reinforced this substitution (3).
The comparison of 80 mg with 25 mg of zinc found no statistically significant difference in the primary outcome. Commercial formulas in Europe often use lower doses than the US study formula.
Which profiles did the studies examine?
The AREDS and AREDS2 findings mainly apply to people with intermediate AMD or advanced AMD in one eye. The studies did not show comparable benefit in people without AMD or with early AMD characterised by only a few small drusen (9, 11).
Age alone cannot determine the decision. Two 65-year-olds may have completely different circumstances based on their retinal examinations. The stage observed by an ophthalmologist—not a general “senior vision” promise—determines whether a high-dose formula is relevant.
There is another clear limitation: the trials did not show an effect of the formula on cataracts (11). AREDS2 should not be used as a generic argument for every age-related eye concern.
This distinction changes how you read a label. “Inspired by AREDS2” does not mean that the product was tested in young adults, for screen-related eye strain or for dry eyes. It means only that some ingredients or doses come from that body of literature.
To put your own profile in context, read our page on the different stages of AMD and ask your ophthalmologist for advice.
Omega-3s, lutein and zeaxanthin: what did the trial actually compare?
AREDS2 used a factorial design. In addition to the base formula, participants received lutein/zeaxanthin, EPA/DHA, both combinations or a placebo. Adding EPA/DHA did not further reduce progression to advanced AMD in the primary outcome (2).
Lutein and zeaxanthin also produced no significant difference from placebo in the primary analysis. Secondary analyses nevertheless supported replacing beta-carotene with them, particularly among participants with the lowest dietary carotenoid intake and former smokers (2, 3).
To distinguish the 10/2 ratio from the complete formula and understand dietary sources, see our guide to lutein and zeaxanthin dosage.
DHA has a separate European claim: at 250 mg per day, it contributes to the maintenance of normal vision. This claim does not make DHA a required component of an AREDS2 formula.
How can you identify an AREDS 2 formula on a label?
- Find the daily serving: one, two or four capsules.
- Record the six amounts separately.
- Check for 10 mg of lutein and 2 mg of zeaxanthin.
- Compare vitamin C with 500 mg and vitamin E with 400 IU.
- Record the zinc dose and form.
- Check for copper alongside a high zinc dose.
- Classify the formula as complete, partial or different.
Example: one capsule contains 5 mg of lutein and the directions state two capsules. The daily dose is therefore 10 mg. If the same formula provides zinc 15 mg, vitamin C 180 mg and vitamin E 30 mg, it uses several AREDS2 components but not the complete trial doses.
To apply this method to any brand, use our guide to reading an eye supplement label.
Do eye supplements sold in France reproduce the full formula?
We reviewed the ten labels in Phytocea's comparison. The table below does not judge their overall quality. It measures only how closely their published daily doses match the six AREDS2 components.
| Product | Lutein / zeaxanthin | Comparison with AREDS2 |
|---|---|---|
| ORetine | 10 mg / 2 mg | Partial: all six nutrient families present, with lower doses of C, E and zinc |
| Nutrof Total | 10 mg / 2 mg | Partial: all six nutrient families present, with lower antioxidant and zinc doses |
| PreserVision 3 | 10 mg / 2 mg | Partial: European adaptation with DHA |
| Macula-Z | 10 mg / 2 mg | Partial: lower doses of C, E and zinc |
| Suvéal Duo | 10 mg / 2 mg | Partial: DHA included, different doses |
| Ocufolin Forte | 10 mg / 2 mg | Different: focused on folates, B vitamins and NAC |
| Visioplex | 10 mg / not disclosed | Different: botanical formula with no separately stated zeaxanthin |
| Ocuvite Lutéine Forte | 6 mg / 0.5 mg | Partial at lower doses |
| Visioptyl | Not disclosed | Cannot be classified from public data |
| Difrarel 100 | 0 mg / 0 mg | Different: medicine containing bilberry and beta-carotene |
Method: manufacturer formulas and directions checked on 2 October 2026. “Partial” means that at least one dose differs from the research formula; it is not an overall judgement of the product.
Prices and use profiles appear in our 2026 comparison of eye formulas.
AREDS 2 and ORetine: two different scopes
For two capsules, ORetine provides lutein 10 mg, zeaxanthin 2 mg, vitamin C 160 mg, d-alpha-tocopherol 30 mg or 45 IU, zinc 11 mg and copper 1.56 mg. It adds astaxanthin 2 mg, reduced glutathione 60 mg, OPCs 28.5 mg, bilberry, selenium, manganese, and vitamins B and D.
This composition includes the six AREDS2 nutrient families, but not the trial's high doses of vitamin C, vitamin E and zinc. ORetine is therefore a multi-ingredient eye formula inspired by this literature, not a complete copy of the US formula. It costs €29.90 for 60 capsules, or 30 days at the stated serving.
See ORetine's complete formula.
When should you seek professional advice?
A high-dose AREDS2 formula should be chosen with an ophthalmologist. Ask for advice before taking one if you smoke or used to smoke, take any medication, use several supplements or have kidney disease.
This article is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice. A rapid loss of vision, distorted lines, a fixed spot or flashes of light require prompt assessment. Before taking a supplement, consult a qualified healthcare professional if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking any medication or using several products containing zinc, copper or vitamin E.